WIP: Sew Day

Today my mom and I got together at her house to spend the morning sewing together. Some states have “snow days”, we have Sew Days!

The set up was in her spacious kitchen with two ironing stations and both of our machines. We had cutting stations on the island and lots of room to move around and get stuff done!


 I decided to work on my Playful Colors quilt top. I’m missing the fifth square so I’ve had to adjust my pattern. Instead of five squares with four filler squares, I’m using the remaining four and sashing them together. 
At first I was worried my fabrics would clash and be too busy but as I pieced it together it started really looking good. I’m happy with the stripes and how well they pull all the other crazy fabrics together.


My mom chose to work on her QAYG pattern. I’m super proud of her for working through this no matter what. She found one mistake and is working through some pretty bulky binding but she’s not given up yet!!!


She’s super close to wrapping this thing up! And I’m only a few sew days away from finishing too. We’re planning another sew day AND making time to podcast.
 photo wip_zpsbbf761bc.jpg
Sew Fresh Quilts

CraftyAllie

4 thoughts on “WIP: Sew Day

  1. How fortunate you both are to have a shared interest, space, and each other. I would love to do something like this with my mom, but she’s long gone, sadly.

    • Thanks Susan, and I agree. I’m pretty blessed to have a common thread (ha, pun intended) with my mom. And I plan to take advantage of that for as long as I can.

Leave a comment